The electorate I represent is bigger than several European countries; bigger than Ireland, Scotland, Holland, Belgium, Switzerland and Austria. It spans from Yanco in the Riverina all the way west to Wentworth shire on the South Australian border – an area of just over 107,000 square kilometres.

Towns in the electorate include Griffith, Deniliquin, Leeton, Whitton, Goolgowi, Hay, Hillston, Darlington Point, Coleambally, Finley, Berrigan, Tocumwal, Mathoura, Wakool, Moulamein, Barham, Balranald, Euston, Gol Gol, Dareton, Buronga and Wentworth.

Murray – which draws its name from the Murray River – is Australia’s food bowl. Much of the dairy, rice, fruit, vegetables and wine you consume every day is grown in our part of the world thanks to irrigated agriculture. It’s also one of the most multicultural regions in rural Australia, built in large part by migrants from places such as Italy, the UK, India and the Pacific Islands.

And most of Murray is incredibly flat – so flat you can see the back of your own head.